t20.com - Home of Cricket!

Kolkata team has won their first IPL title after defeating the defending Champions Chennai Super Kings by 5 wickets in a closely fought match. Playing the first IPL final Kolkata team was supposed to be under pressure. But the visitors rose to the occasion well and easily denied the home team their third IPL trophy.


Bowling first after losing the toss, the Kolkata bowlers went for more runs against a formidable Chennai attack.  For the home team today it was the turn of Chennai batsmen Raina to shine with the bat. Chennai team coming to the finals after two high profile wins were the favorites based on their performance, past experience and home crowd support. But as Gambhir had mentioned earlier, previous records does not matter, today the Gambhir and Co proved it.


After starting slowly in the first two overs, Chennai Openers got back to their work. They hammered Brett Lee, Narine raising questions on whether Gambir had done a right job in selecting his bowlers. The opening duo of Vijay and Hussey added 87 runs. Once Vijay departed, it was Raina day today. He hammered the bowlers for scoring the quickest runs for Chennai innings. 38 balls 73 runs were flooded with 5 sixes and 3 boundaries. Though Chennai batsmen were hitting, Kolkata fielders kept their patience and worked hard. Extra runs were being saved and fielders were diving to get any opportunity. Vijay catch was perfect example.  Shakil dived to catch the ball on his left hand side. Brilliant work.


As Chennai innings got over, there were 190 runs on the board. Dhoni must have felt good because the teams have rarely won in chase in IPL finals. 191 runs was no simple chase for kolkata.  Especially after Kolkata captain Gambhir was out in first over, Chennai had a big psychological advantage. But Fortunes changed in favour of Kolkata after Bisla knock. The Haryana batsmen did not have any big records behind him but today he was the hero.

Bisla  hit Morkel for four boundaries in the fourth over. Trouble for Chennai title hope had begun. On the other side Kallis played calmly giving strike to his inform young partner.  Ashwin who has been CSK most consistent performer was hit for two sixes. In the same over bisla also got a lifeline when Hilfy could not hold a high flying ball despite the jump.


Almost on every ball, bisla tried to make room or tried to come close to the pitch to hit the bowler. Bravo tried a slower one but was hit over the ropes. In fifteenth over Morkel got rid of Bisla. But by that time Bisla had done his job and experienced Kallsi then took the momentum in his own hands.  But suddenly the match started going into a crunch situation as Shukla and Pathan departed and asking rate started mounting. In 19th over Kallis departed and KKR still needed 15 runs with two new batsmen on the crease


Tiwary finished the match in a fashion with two fours in 20th over to give Kolkata their first IPL title. CSK were definitely the favorites but KKR have been consistent. Their today’s performance in crunch situation reiterated the fact that the KKR team is an elite unit. Despite Narine and Gambhir failure, other members of the team rose and performed the task. Well deserved IPL winners. Though Chennai lost they must be happy the way their boys performed today and in IPL matches. IPL 2012 ended with a very interesting match and a well deserved winner. Hats off to, Gambhir and Co for this big victory. Congrats to Kolkata fans.

Views: 352

Reply to This

T20 on Facebook!


Top Members 

T20.com on Twitter

    follow T20.com on Twitter

    T20 now on your mobile phone! http://www.t20.com/

    © 2019   Created by Global Cricket Ventures.   Powered by

    Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

    Web Statistics