t20.com - Home of Cricket!

The Indian cricket most stable batsmen ‘The Wall’ quit International game after disastrous tour of Australia. Previous foreign tour of Indian team was also a disaster. But Rahul Dravid shined in the tour and in the process played ODI and his only T20. It is unfortunate that we will not get to watch his play any more in International Cricket, but at 39 he understand himself better than anybody else.  There is a saying ‘Somebody’s loss is Somebody’s gain’.



The Indian Premier league (IPL) team ‘Rajasthan Loyals(RR)’ lead by Rahul Dravid are the beneficiaries.  Having retired from other from other formats of game, Dravid can focus on grooming the RR team to win back the coveted IPL 2012 trophy which they won in the inaugural season.  Also it will be a delight for numerous dravid fans to watch the most reliable batsmen in the history of game in action.

It is amazing how the wall of Indian cricket has adjusted to shorter format of games which does not suit his style of play. But having played in all editions of IPL, nowhere it looked like the test specialist was un-comfortable. Having scored 1241 runs in 55 IPL matches, Dravid has contributed immensely on the ground and off the ground grooming youngsters with important tips.


With numerous records such as ‘Most catches in Test cricket ‘, ‘First batsman to score a century in all Test-playing nations’, ‘Second-highest run-maker in Test cricket after Sachin Tendulkar’ etc  under his belt, Rahul dravid patience on the field is what every aspiring cricketer would wish to learn.  One of the biggest advantages for RR will be that the new captain will be free of his international commitments and can focus on grooming the local boys.





In first edition of IPL, RR was the weakest team on paper. But under the able leadership of Shane Warne they won the trophy. Rahul Dravid too has great leadership skills. With the presence of players such current New Zealand captain Ross Taylor, former international T20 captains Johan Both and Paul Collingwood and Shane Watson today RR team is one of the talented squad. As a leader Rahul, will have to balance big names with local Indian players to get match winning performance.


Whenever watching a live match, I used to always switch off the TV, when Dravid’s wicket is to fall.  I had a misconception that by the time I switch on the TV, hopefully something happens in India’s favor since the savior had departed. But with Dravid’s retirement, it is tough on who will play the role of ‘the Wall’. But I would never forget the day when Dravid hit 3 consecutive sixes in his only T20 match that he played against England. A person of dravid class was trying to hit every ball outside the ropes. Was it blinder? Some say yes but for me it was not. Having watched him play personally in Ranji and in IPL, probably Dravid was trying to silence the critics that he can adapt and connect well.


Averaging 2 ½ hours against the mighty Australians on the crease, the Wall tag has not been bestowed on this quiet men for any simple reason. He has earned it. As an eager cricket fan, I will always remember his Britannia bat and the confidence that he used to give billion people when he used to be at the crease.  Rahul Dravid has improved himself with the performance every time a challenge was thrown. The dressing room of RR will definitely benefit from the experience of their captain. What a great way it will be to win IPL 2012 trophy. A new trend for RR management ‘ Retired International Cricketer Captains get back the glory’. If this happens or not, We Need to wait and watch. For sure i can say that RR management decision on choosing Dravid to lead, will give lot of implicit and explicit benefits to RR players.


Royal Challengers Squad for IPL 2012


  • Rahul Dravid(captain, batsmen)
  • Stuart Binny(Allrounder)
  • Johan Botha(Allrounder)
  • Deepak Chahar(Bowler)
  • Dinesh Chandimal(Wicketkeeper batsman)
  • Ankeet Chavan(Batsman)
  • Aakash Chopra(Batsman)
  • Paul Collingwood(Allrounder)
  • Kevon Cooper(Batsman)
  • Aditya Dole(Bowler)
  • Samad Fallah(Bowler)
  • Faiz Fazal(Batsman)
  • Shreevats Goswami(wicketkeeper)
  • Brad Hodge(Batsmen)  
  • Brad Hogg(Allrounder)
  • Ashok Menaria(Allrounder)
  • Sumit Narwal(Allrounder)
  • Pankaj Singh(Batsman)
  • Amit Paunikar(Wicketkeeper batsman)
  • Ajinkya Rahane(Batsman)           
  • Abhishek Raut(Allrounder)
  • Owais Shah(Batsman)
  • Pinal Shah(Wicketkeeper batsman)

Views: 67

Reply to This

T20 on Facebook!


T20.com on Twitter

    follow T20.com on Twitter

    T20 now on your mobile phone! http://www.t20.com/

    © 2018   Created by Global Cricket Ventures.   Powered by

    Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

    Web Statistics