t20.com - Home of Cricket!

2nd ODI: India defeat Zimbabwe by 62 runs to take unbeatable 2-0 lead

Harare: The Indian cricket team demonstrated an all-round performance to register a praiseworthy 62-run conquest over Zimbabwe in the second One-Day International (ODI). They have a match yet to play, and thus finalized the series 2-0 at the Harare Sports Club here on Sunday (12th July 2015).

Team India’s opening batsman Murali Vijay (72) and captain Ajinkya Rahane (63) shined and skilfully played with the bat to assist the team to reach 271/8 in 50 overs.

In response, some expert tight bowling by the Indians and the hosts' wickets tumbling at regular intervals obstructed Zimbabwe as they were hurried out for 209 in 49 overs. For team India, bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar (4/33) was the star performer of the bowlers.

India was asked to bat and began with a relaxed start with skipper Rahane and Vijay taking their time to get comfortable. The two scored 39 in the first 10 overs.

The next 10 overs also the Indian team play calmly, spending their time in the middle, to estimate the wicket rather than being forceful and played 68 deliveries as dot balls in the first 20 overs. Team India fared well and kept their wickets safe by registering 78/0 in 20 overs.

Zimbabwe bowlers Neville Madziva, Brian Vitori, Donald Tiripano were all orderly and efficient.

Rahane made attempts to collect more runs and hike the scoring rate but fell in the 26th over after constructing a sturdy foundation. The Rahane and Vijay opening partnership saw a total of 112 runs. Zimbabwe then found their way to grab wickets after they disturbed the stand.

India’s Man-of-the-Match Vijay collected runs and scored comfortably but failed to reach his maiden ODI century as he was trapped by substitute fielder Malcolm Waller at long-on off Madziva.

The visiting team were at ease at 159/2 in the 34th over when Vijay got out. His dismissal saw Ambati Rayudu perform who fixed up India's win in the first ODI with a fine century.

Rayadu played with caution and was able to set another big score but got out early, recording 41. After Rayudu left it was Manoj Tiwary (22), Robin Uthappa (13), Stuart Binny (25), Kedar Yadav (16), Axar Patel (1) all got out attempting to score big runs. The team made all efforts and contributed to help India cross the 270-run mark.

For Zimbabwe, Madziva (4/49) was the chosen one amongst bowlers.

Pursuing 271, the hosts were condensed to 43/3 by the 11th over as opener Vusi Sibanda (2), Hamilton Masakadza (5) and Elton Chigumbara (9) fell in speedy series. Sean Williams (20) also got out after a short time  with opener Chamu Chibhabha as Zimbabwe were condensed to 95/4 by the 25th over.

Chibhabha looked in control as the falling of wickets at the other end did not bother him as he scored easily and faced the Indian bowlers. The right-handed batsman hit nine easy boundaries while he collected his 70, but was unsuccessful as he ran himself out in the 32nd over when his team was in need for him to stay with stability when the score was on 130/5.

In a short while, Sikandar Raza (18), Richmond Mutumbami (32) and Graeme Cremer (27) were walking back to pavilion making it impossible for the hosts to continue the fight to win the match.

Photo courtesy: www.sports.ndtv.com

Views: 3

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of t20.com - Home of Cricket! to add comments!

Join t20.com - Home of Cricket!

T20 on Facebook!


Top Members 

T20.com on Twitter

    follow T20.com on Twitter

    T20 now on your mobile phone! http://www.t20.com/

    © 2018   Created by Global Cricket Ventures.   Powered by

    Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

    Web Statistics