t20.com - Home of Cricket!

ICC World T20: Bowlers shine, India wins against defending chaimpions West Indies

DHAKA: Brimming with confidence, team India has bagged their second consecutive victory, by defeating Pakistan and now, West Indies. T20 format does not allow mistakes but India has been lucky at ICC World T20 this year; after some crucial slips and mistakes like dropping Chris Gayle twice (0 and 19), bowled 13 extra deliveries (12 wides, one no ball) and spinner Ravindra Jadeja conceded 48 runs off four overs and dismissed a batsman off a no ball.

All these mistakes seem to be side-lined now that the team has stepped into a position in the semi-final of the ICC World T20 with a seven wickets lashing of West Indies in the Super-10 clash at the Sher-E-Bangla National Stadium on (23rd Mar) Sunday. The victory was achieved in 19.4 overs. Set in pursuit of only 130, the team got Virat Kohli’s hard work making 54 (41 balls), giving five boundaries and once across the boundary giving six runs. His unforced and remarkable ability to take over the confidence of the finest of the bowlers, demoralized the West Indies and they lost all hope in keeping up with pressure on the rival Indian team.

Along with the partnership of Rohit Sharma who continued to support Kohli, remained unbeaten on 62 (55 balls) hitting 2 massive sixes and five boundaries. Their second-wicket partnership of 106 safeguarded the position for India without much trouble.

Skipper MS Dhoni and his bowlers were the stars of the match; patient and organized, the team leader planned every move, sending the right player to target the win on Sunday.

Instead of the general perception, Dhoni did not open the bowling with R Ashwin, as he has been good at playing against Gayle, instead he chose Bhuvneshwar Kumar, showing confidence and giving the youngster an opportunity to showcase his talent.

Kumar sharpened and tweaked his swing, showing signs of confident bowling, as he beat the batsmen and fashioned it well. Kumar approved just three runs off his initial three overs and bowled 16 dots, 14 of them to Dwayne Smith. The incentive of that burden created by him helped Mohammad Shami to continue the tactics.

The tournament in the Super-10 of the ICC World T20 between India and West Indies depended heavily between the Indian spinners and Gayle. The powerful six hit by the Jamaican player shaking the faith of Indian fans took off on Amit Mishra's first delivery.

Mishra made Gayle repeat the same act but Yuvraj Singh dropped a sitter at deep mid-wicket. Ashwin took a neat return catch to send back Smith for an uncomfortable 11 runs off 29 balls.

Gayle was dismissed, as he was run out following a mix-up with Marlon Samuels after an out of character 34 in 33 balls. Samuels got out after Gayle as Mishra stumped him right.

India was clearly in sublime form albeit the few errors and commanded the game till the end.

West Indies: Dwayne Smith c & b Ashwin 11, Gayle run out (Dhoni /Shami) 34, Samuels st Dhoni b Mishra 18, Lendl Simmons c Dhawan b Jadeja 27, Bravo lbw b Mishra 0, Sammy c Sharma b Jadeja 11, Russell c Kohli b Jadeja 7, Narine (not out) 7, Denesh Ramdin (not out) 0. Extras (lb 1, w 12, nb 1) 14. Total (for seven wickets in 20 overs) 129.
FoW: 1-38, 2-62, 3-74, 4-74, 5-97, 6-108, 7-121.
Bowling: Kumar 3-0-3-0, Shami 3-0-27-0, Ashwin 4-0-24-1, Mishra 4-0-18-2, Raina 2-0-8-0, Jadeja 4-0-48-3.

India: Rohit Sharma (not out) 62, Shikhar Dhawan lbw b Badree 0, Virat Kohli b Russell 54, Yuvraj Singh c Gayle b Samuels    10, Suresh Raina (not out) 1. Extras (w 2, nb 1) 3. Total (for three wickets in 19.4 overs) 130.
FoW: 1-1, 2-107, 3-129.
Bowling: Badree 4-0-28-1, Santokie 4-0-27-0, Narine 4-0-20-0, Dwyane Bravo 1-0-12-0, Sammy 1-0-9-0, Samuels 3.4-0-22-1, Russell 2-0-12-1.

Photo courtesy:www.dawn.com

Views: 487

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of t20.com - Home of Cricket! to add comments!

Join t20.com - Home of Cricket!

T20 on Facebook!


Top Members 

T20.com on Twitter

    follow T20.com on Twitter

    T20 now on your mobile phone! http://www.t20.com/

    © 2019   Created by Global Cricket Ventures.   Powered by

    Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

    Web Statistics